Gordon dares Duterte to name 2 ‘narco generals’

first_imgHe added that the prompt identificationof these high-ranking police officials will speed up their apprehension.“They can be put into administrative arrest already. Puwede na niya i-put intoquarters ang mga ‘yan. In fact, kahit na ang mga regional commanders cansummarily dismiss them and even file a case,” said Gordon.President Duterte recently revealed in a forum in Sochi, Russia that there weretwo generals who are involved in the illegal drug trade but did not identifywhether they come from the police or military.Duterte’s statement came after the revelation at the Senate hearings that outgoingPhilippine National Police chief General Oscar Albayalde asked to stop theimplementation of the dismissal order against 13 ninja cops, who conducted ananti-drug operation in Pampanga that was allegedly riddled with irregularities.While the President would let the Senate finish its investigation on ninjacops, he would wait for the recommendation of the Interior Secretary Eduardo Añoto finish his internal investigation before acting on the case./PN MANILA – Sen. Richard Gordon has dared PresidentRodrigo Duterte to reveal the names of the two generals who were allegedly“still playing” with illegal drugs. Naming the so-called “narco generals”will send a strong message that the government were not just targeting thesmall fry, stressed Gordon.  “Kung alam na niya [Duterte], dapat tuluyan na niya. ‘Wag na niya kaming hintayin,” Gordon saidin an interview with DWIZ. last_img read more

Five changes on Tipp team for Waterford game

first_imgManager Michael Ryan has left high-profile attacking trio Seamus Callanan, Noel McGrath and John O’Dwyer out of the starting XV – they’re replaced by Dan McCormack, John McGrath and Niall O’Meara.There are also two alterations to the defence.Joe O’Dwyer and Seamus Kennedy come in for John O’Keeffe and Ronan Maher. Here is the team in full:1. Daragh Mooney – Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill2. Donagh Maher – Burgess3. James Barry – Upperchurch-Drombane4. Joe O’Dwyer – Killenaule5. Seamus Kennedy – St. Marys6. Tomás Hamill – Moyne-Templetuohy7. Padraic Maher (Capt.) – Thurles Sarsfields8. Brendan Maher – Borris-Ileigh9. Kieran Bergin – Killenaule10. Dan McCormack – Borris-Ileigh11. Jason Forde – Silvermines12. Steven O’Brien – Ballina13. Aidan McCormack – Thurles Sarsfields14. John McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney15. Niall O’Meara – Kilruane MacDonaghsTipp FM will have live coverage of the match at Walsh Park from 1.50pm tomorrow in association with Donal Ryan Motor Group, Nenagh, Thurles and Roscrea AND O’Dwyer Brothers, Tipperary Town.last_img read more

Basketball: Mutombo named NBA Hall of Famer

first_imgEight-time NBA All-Star and four-time Defensive Player of the Year Dikembe Mutombo was named Monday as one of 11 (inductees this year to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.Mutombo, the dominant 7-foot-2 center starred at college basketball powerhouse Georgetown University, had played 18 standout NBA seasons,using his finger-wagging index finger as a signature gesture after blocking opponents’ shots.”It’s a dream come true I never thought about being a basketball player,” the Congolese-native said. “I thought about studying medicine and helping people. It’s amazing.”Mutombo will be joined in the Hall of Fame class of 2015 by three-time WNBA Most Valuable Player Lisa Leslie, two-time college coach of the year John Calipari, ABA and four-time NBA All-Star Spencer Haywood, seven-time All-Star Jo Jo White and ironman NBA referee Dick Bavetta, who officiated 2,635 consecutive games during his 39-year career.John Isaacs, ABA star Louie Dampier, coaches Lindsay Gaze and Tom Heinsohn and contributor George Raveling were previously announced during NBA all-star weekend in February. Candidates needed at least 18 of 24 votes from the honors committee to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.The induction ceremony is September 11 in Springfield, Massachusetts.last_img read more