How the ACC tournament’s format changed after Louisville’s postseason ban

first_imgFollowing Louisville’s self-imposed postseason ban on Friday, the Atlantic Coast Conference has revamped the format for the conference tournament scheduled from March 8-12 at the Verizon Center in Washington, D.C.The top four teams will still receive double-byes, but now, teams No. 5-10 will receive single byes. Had Louisville still been eligible, only teams finishing fifth through ninth would receive single byes.Previously, there would have been three opening-round games, between teams finishing 10th through 15th on Tuesday, March 8. Now, there will just be two, between teams finishing 11th through 14th.The ACC also had to adjust the conference tournament last season when Syracuse placed a postseason ban on itself and sat out the tournament.Syracuse (16-8, 6-5 ACC) currently sits tied for ninth place in the conference with Florida State (16-7, 6-5), who the Orange hosts on Thursday night.AdvertisementThis is placeholder textLouisville (19-4, 8-2) is tied for first place in the conference with North Carolina (19-4, 8-2).Here’s a look at the full ACC standings:Louisville (19-4, 8-2)North Carolina (19-4, 8-2)Virginia (19-4, 8-3)Miami (18-4, 8-3)Notre Dame (16-7, 7-4)Clemson (14-9, 7-4)Pittsburgh (17-5, 6-4)Duke (17-6, 6-4)Florida State (16-7, 6-5)Syracuse (16-8, 6-5)Virginia Tech (13-11, 5-6)Georgia Tech (12-11, 2-8)North Carolina State (12-12, 2-9)Wake Forest (10-13, 1-10)Boston College (7-16, 0-10) Comments Published on February 8, 2016 at 2:04 pm Contact Paul: [email protected] | @pschweds Related Stories Louisville, like Syracuse last season, self-imposes postseason ban for men’s basketball teamSyracuse basketball roundtable: SU’s matchup with Florida State, its defense and Louisville’s postseason banJim Boeheim and Leonard Hamilton discuss Syracuse-Florida State matchup on ACC coaches teleconferencecenter_img Facebook Twitter Google+last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *